SIPA Academic Calendar

Related Calendars: Columbia University Academic Calendar  |  SIPA Events Calendar

Summer 2020 

May 26 Tuesday MPA-ESP - New Student Orientation
May 27 Wednesday MPA-ESP - First Day of Summer Classes
July 27 - August 21 Monday - Friday ALP Summer Language Session for Incoming MIA/MPA Class
August 7 Friday MPA-ESP - Last Day of Summer Classes
August 12 - 16 Monday - Friday MPA-ESP - Final Exams

Fall 2020 

August 22 Saturday Executive MPA - New Student Orientation
August 24 - 31 Monday - Monday Registration Available to Continuing SIPA Students Only
August 24 - 28 Monday - Friday MPA in Development Practice - New Student Orientation
Aug 31 - Sept 4 Monday - Friday MIA/MPA - New Student Orientation
September 1 Sunday Application for Degree and Concentration/Specialization Audit Form Deadline for October 2020 graduates
September 2 - 3 Wednesday - Thursday Registration Available to New SIPA Students Only
September 4 - 18 Friday - Friday Registration Open to all SIPA Students
September 7 Monday Labor Day - University Holiday - No Classes
September 8 Tuesday First Day of Classes
September 12 Saturday Executive MPA - First Day of Classes
September 18 Friday Last Day of Registration via SSOL for all SIPA Students
Last Day to Add a Full Semester Course (excludes short courses)
Deadline to Submit the Application for Individual Research (3 credit course only)
Last Day to Drop a Full Semester Class Without Receiving the Mark of ‘W’ and Incurring Financial Responsibility for a Class. Last Day to Change Grading Option to “R” Credit
Note: Short courses Can be Registered Anytime Prior to the First Session. Short Courses Must be Dropped a Day Prior to the Second Class Session. A Mark of 'W' Will be Posted for Short Courses Dropped After this Time
September 30 Monday Last Day to Submit Summer Internship Paperwork to the Office of Career Services
October 13 Tuesday Last Day to Withdraw from a Full Semester Course ("W" posted). Students May Not Withdraw from Full Semester Courses After This Date. Note that the Course and Credits Remain on Students' Schedules
October 21 Wednesday October Degrees Conferred
October 22 Thursday Mid-semester Date
Deadline to Submit the Application for Individual Research (1.5 credit only)
November 1 Sunday Application for Degree Deadline for February 2021 Graduates
November 2 Monday Academic Holiday - No Classes
November 3 Tuesday Election Day - University Holiday - No Classes
November 25 Wednesday Academic Holiday - No Classes
November 26 Thursday Thanksgiving Day - University Holiday - No Classes
November 27 Friday University Holiday - No Classes
December 1 Tuesday Application for Degree Deadline for May Graduates
December 7 - 11 Monday-Saturday Executive MPA - Last Week of Evening and Saturday Classes
December 14 Monday Last Day of Classes
Revised Date: Last Day to Change Grading Option to Pass/Fail or Letter Grade for Full Semester Courses . For Short Courses Pass/fail Requests Must be Submitted Prior to the Final Course Session.
December 15 - 16 Tuesday-Wednesday Study Days (during this time there are to be no exams, make-up classes, or assignments due)
December 17 - 23 Thursday-Wednesday Final Exams

Spring 2021 

January 6 Wednesday Executive MPA - New Student Orientation
January 5 - 6 Tuesday - Wednesday Registration Open to Continuing SIPA Students Only
January 6 - 7 Wednesday - Thursday MIA/MPA New Student Orientation
January 7 Thursday Registration Open to New SIPA Students Only
January 8 - 22 Friday - Friday Registration Open to All SIPA Students
January 11 Monday First Day of Classes
January 18 Monday Martin Luther King Jr. Birthday Observed - University Holiday - No Classes
January 16 Saturday Executive MPA - First Day of Classes
January 22 Friday Last Day of Online Registration for All SIPA Students
Last Day to Add a Class (excludes short courses)
Last Day to Drop a Full Semester Class Without Receiving the Grade of "W" and Incurring Financial Responsibility for a Class (Excludes Short Courses). Last day to Change Grading Option to "R" Credit
Deadline to submit the Application for Individual Research (3 credit course only)
Note: Short Courses Can Be Registered Anytime Prior to the First Session. Short Courses Must be Dropped A Day Prior to the Second Class Session. A "W" Will be Posted for Short Courses Dropped After This Time.
February 10 Wednesday February Degrees Conferred
February 16 Tuesday Last Day to Withdraw from a Full Semester Course ("W" posted). Students May Not Withdraw from Full Semester Courses After This Date. Note that the Course and Credits Remain on Students' Schedules
Mid-semester Date
Deadline to submit the Application for Individual Research (1.5 credit course only)
March 1 - 5 Mon-Fri Spring Recess - No Classes
April 7 Wednesday Last Day to Submit Internship Paperwork to the Office of Career Services
April 9 - 15 Friday - Thursday Executive MPA - Last Week of Evening and Saturday Classes
April 15th (revised date) Thursday Last Day to Change Grading Option to Pass/Fail or Letter Grade for Full Semester Courses. For Short Courses Pass/fail Requests Must be Submitted Prior to the Final Course Session.
April 15 Thursday Last Day of Classes
April 16 - April 19 Friday - Monday Study Days (during this time there are to be no exams, make-up classes, or assignments due)
April 20 - 26 Tuesday - Monday Final Exams
April 28 Wednesday SIPA Graduation
April 30 Friday University Commencement